Saco Valley Woodsmen's Field Day Hall of Fame

The Saco Valley Woodsmen's Field Day Hall of Fame was established to recognize contestants and those with many years of service working to make Woodsmen's Field Day successful.  Competitors are recognized in one of five categories: Woodsman, Women, Master's, Logger & Trucker plus a category for people who have donated many years of service.  A special certificate/plaque is presented to recipients.  A display with the names and photos of inducted members is part of History Hall near the main gate.  During Woodsmen's Field Day it will be on display in the infield.  The criteria used for selection to the Hall of Fame are: Contestants have competed at ten Saco Valley Woodsmen’s Field Days, had five first place finishes, held two or more records at some point, and/or been an overall Champion.  Fryeburg Fair's Hall of Fame Members are:

Champion Woodsman - Dave Geer, Winsted, CT 2009; Mike Sullivan, Winsted, CT 2010; Don Lambert, St. Gilles, Quebec 2011; Rick Geer, Jewett City, CT 2013; & Jerry Gingras, Errol, NH 2013
Women’s Champion - Nancy Zalewski, Monitowoc, WI 2013
Master’s Champion - Charlie Wojtkun, Preston, CT 2009 (deceased); & Jim Colbert, Winsted, CT 2010
Champion Logger - Dick Brown, Rumford Point, ME 2009 (deceased); John Wescott, Kezar Falls, ME 2010
Champion Trucker - Arnold Winn, Newfield, ME 2009 & Dale Mills, Parsonsfield, ME 2010
Society Champion - David Billings, Otisfield, ME 2013

Our mission is to preserve and celebrate the past, showcase the present in a safe and exciting format and perpetuate the future of our woods products industry and the men and women who make their living from the bounty of our forests.