Home  >  Fair Info  >  Scholarship Info

Fryeburg Fair Announces Scholarship Awards for High School Seniors!

Roy Andrews, President of the Western Oxford Agricultural Society, also known as the Fryeburg Fair, wishes to announce the fourth year of scholarship awards available to graduating seniors.

The WOAS has voted to give two awards, to be selected from the students who apply, to students who reside in the WOAS towns. The WOAS comprises the following towns: Fryeburg, Lovell, Stow, Waterford, Stoneham, Hiram, Sweden, Porter, Bridgton, Otisfield, Cornish, Baldwin, Standish, Harrison, Denmark and Brownfield in Maine; Freedom, Eaton, Bartlett, Chatham, Conway and Jackson in New Hampshire. The awards will be $2,000 each, and will be awarded to each of two graduating high school students who are pursuing further education in the fields of agriculture, forestry or earth sciences.

The awards will be given at the end of the 2018 senior high school year and the financial award will be given upon successful completion of two semesters of further study.

The information and application forms to apply for these awards are available in the guidance department of the six high schools which are included in the WOAS towns – Fryeburg Academy, Kennett High School, Lake Region High School, Bonny Eagle High School, Oxford Hills High School and Sacopee Valley High School.

Application forms must be submitted to Fryeburg Fair by April 27, 2018. Awards will be announced after area high school graduations.

The WOAS Scholarship Award Committee members are:  Roy Andrews, Judy Haynes, Jack Wadsworth, Judy Raymond, Dean Baker, George Weston & Barbara Hill

Photo of Brianna Shappell one of the 2013 Fryeburg Fair scholarship/award winners with Roy Andrews, Fryeburg Fair President.